Welcoming Returning Writers: Alice

Rio3Saludos, todos! After an action-packed summer, I’m thrilled to be back again this year writing for the Vamos a Leer blog. For those of you new to the blog who don’t yet know me, I am a second-year graduate student at the University of New Mexico in Latin American Studies. If you’d like, check out my introductory post from last year, where I talk a bit more thoroughly about my background and my studies.

I’m also just popping in to make a little announcement regarding my newly expanded role as a Vamos a Leer blogger. Last year, most of my time was dedicated to my weekly ¡Mira Look! blog posts. My role now includes much more time dedicated to writing and compiling content for the blog. As a result, you will be hearing a lot more from me!

In particular, I wanted to call your attention to a new initiative for the year: I will be using my extra time to feature additional books, authors, or other related material outside of my regular, weekly posts. For example, later in the week I will be posting about a recently published book, Mamá the Alien by René Colato Laínez, courtesy of the amazing publishing company, Lee & Low Books. Stay tuned for this post, which ties into a broader discussion about the use of the words “illegal” and “alien.”

rio1In other news, I’ve also just come back from a six week trip to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, where I was studying Portuguese. I am hoping to incorporate some of what I saw and learned abroad throughout my blog posts. Specifically, some of my extra posts this semester will feature Brazilian children’s books that I found while attending an international literary festival in Paraty, Brazil. This expanded content represents our attempt at Vamos a Leer to explore new channels of Latin American children’s literature and bring you more international resources.

Finally, I want to hear from all of you as well! As more of my time will be spent bringing you interesting and relevant resources, I would love to know what new authors, books, themes, or classroom strategies you would like to hear and learn more about. Feel free to comment on my posts with thoughts or suggestions.

I look forward to another year with this wonderful blogging community!

¡Hasta pronto!
Alice

Leave a Reply

