Introduction to New Writer: Logan

¡Buenos días a tod@s!10168167_10204519910572779_396355616523347837_n

I’m Logan and I will be joining you monthly here on the Vamos a Leer Blog as your insider for information on the upcoming adult novels and authors we will be reading for our book group. I come to you from rural Wisconsin, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin – La Crosse, in 2012, where I studied Literature and Creative Writing. Upon graduation, I accepted a nomination to volunteer for the United States Peace Corps in Panama. In Panama I lived in a rural, agriculture-driven community on the Costa Rican border and primarily worked in the sectors of youth development, sexual health education and English education. It was Panama that really got me interested in Latin America and more specifically, Latin American populations. The people I lived and worked with were so open, so sweet, so community-oriented that I was immediately attracted to the idea of studying about and working with Latin Americans, which has brought me to the Latin American & Iberian Institute (LAII) at the University of New Mexico. As a graduate assistant at the LAII, I primarily work in event promotion and social media and will also be writing book reviews and featured author articles for this blog. I’m really excited to be a part of the blogging team, I know many of the books we will be reading throughout the span of the year are by great authors, some that I have read, and I can only say that it will be a serious pleasure to read, write and talk about them with all of you. As for my studies I’m a first year Master’s student, studying Latin American Studies and concentrating in History and Community Regional Planning. I hope to focus more specifically on social movements in Latin America, rural development and immigration patterns and nonprofit work in the United States (specifically, back in my homeland, the Midwest).

With that, I would like to thank you for reading. I hope you enjoy the work I will be sending out to you, and hope to discuss some of these spectacular works of literature with you in the future!

Mil gracias y mucho gusto.
L

2 thoughts on “Introduction to New Writer: Logan

Leave a Reply

