Introduction to New Writer: Alice

profile pictureHi everybody!

My name is Alice Donahue and I am a first-year Master’s student in the Latin American Studies program at the University of New Mexico. I will be studying Spanish Literature and Human Rights and working as a graduate assistant with K-12 education and outreach at UNM’s Latin American and Iberian Institute. This year I will be in charge of writing children’s book reviews for this awesome blog. I am very excited to start reading some of these great books and engaging in this wonderful community of educators! I am originally from Long Island, New York, and I got my undergraduate degree at SUNY Geneseo, where I studied Spanish, English and French. After graduating I took a year off before graduate school to work at a literary and human rights organization in New York that defends the right to free expression around the world, while celebrating and promoting contemporary writers and literature. I became very interested in the intersection between literature and human rights, which is one of the reasons that I am looking forward to exploring the ways in which these children’s books explain and expose social and/or political realities.

¡Hasta pronto!
Alice

6 thoughts on “Introduction to New Writer: Alice

  1. Pingback: Welcoming Returning Writers: Alice | Vamos a Leer

Leave a Reply

