Hard & Vulnerable: Discovering the Universe of Aristotle and Dante

You all know how much we loved Aristotle and Dante Discover the Universe when we read it for our February book club, so I had to share this beautiful review with you from Gathering Books. It’s such a wonderful discussion that really captures what makes the book so special.

Gathering Books

SilencedWidget

Iphigene Here.

If emotions were currency in the world of reading, I would be poor. I’m not the most emotional reader there is. I rarely find myself in tears or in awe of a book. These occasions are so rare that authors and books that do awe me become an obsession. Case in point: Haruki Murakami (there is no need to expound on this, only that I have written two college papers on him and his books). While I enjoy reading many books, normally only one book in a whole year of reading makes my jaw drop and impossibly moves me. This year, this feeling came early. It came in the most unexpected places, in a Young Adult book I read on a whim. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, I thought was good enough reading: It fit the theme, Fats enjoyed what little she read…

View original post 2,169 more words

5 thoughts on “Hard & Vulnerable: Discovering the Universe of Aristotle and Dante

    • It’s such a wonderful review of Aristotle and Dante, I had to share it. I always enjoy your reviews. You really captured what makes the book so moving. Our book group absolutely loves everything by Sanez. He’s actually going to be in Santa Fe in a few weeks, and we’re going to get to hear him speak. I’m really looking forward to it.

      • Hi Katrina.
        Oh My, i envy your group. I’m on a hunt for his books and I’ll try to get myself more of his books one way or another. Unfortunately none of the local bookstores here in the Philippines carry his books. I do hope that Aristotle and Dante and its popularity would change all that. 🙂

        I’m glad you enjoyed the review.

  1. I think that this is one of the most beautiful reviews of a book that I have EVER read. I love Alire-Saenz work, but I have not yet read this book. Top of my list for summer.
    Thank you for this.
    fg

    • Hi,

      Katrina led me to your comment.
      My initial reaction was a big wide smile 😀

      I was close to not writing this review or posting it on our blog. It was hard to review such a wonderful book, but i fought through it and found myself at the very last minute (the night before the post was due) putting something together that satisfied me.

      Your comment made all the effort it took to get this review out worth it. I am glad you liked the review, it does motivate me to keep on writing reviews even if i do so very rarely for Gathering Books.

      Thanks again.

      Iphigene

Comments are closed.