Book Giveaway!! Hurricane Dancers: The First Caribbean Pirate Shipwreck

We’re giving away 5 copies of Hurricane Dancers: The First Caribbean Pirate Shipwreck (written by Margarita Engle)–our featured novel for January’s book group meeting!! It’s won both the Pura Belpré Award and the Américas Award! We can’t wait to read it in our book group.  It’s appropriate for ages 12 and up. To be entered in the giveaway, just comment on any post on the blog by December 13th. Everyone who comments between November 15th and December 13th will be entered in the drawing.  It’s a great way to add to your personal teaching library! If your name is chosen, we’ll email you ASAP about mailing the book to you.

Good luck!

7 thoughts on “Book Giveaway!! Hurricane Dancers: The First Caribbean Pirate Shipwreck

    • I’m just reading it now and loving it! It’s another novel in verse, like The Surrender Tree. This was a new ‘genre’ for me, I hadn’t read anything like it until last year. I really like it though, and think it can be a really approachable style for students, especially struggling readers. We’ve got you entered in our drawing for a copy now–so maybe you’ll end up with another copy for your personal or school library!!

  1. Thanks for the opportunity with the Red Umbrella. I will wait for it to come here 🙂 I don’t know if I am still eligible to join another one, but still thanks!

  2. Hi Katrina,
    Thank you for a wonderful evening last night discussing The Red Umbrella, I enjoyed talking to your students and look forward to reading Hurricane Dancers. I love pirate stories! Blanca

    • Thank you guys for coming! I really enjoyed it (as always). I think it was a really nice experience for the students to get to talk to such wonderful educators like you guys! I’m looking forward to this pirate story too!

Leave a Reply

