Our Next Good Read. . .The Dreamer

Join us October 1st at Bookworks from 5:00-7:00 pm to discuss our next book.  We are reading The Dreamer by Pam Muñoz Ryan and Peter Sís. It has received numerous awards including the Américas Award and the Pura Bulpré Medal.

Here’s a sneak peek about the book-“From the time he is a young boy, Neftalí hears the call of a mysterious voice. Even when the neighborhood children taunt him, and when his harsh, authoritarian father ridicules him, and when he doubts himself, Neftalí knows he cannot ignore the call. Under the canopy of the lush rain forest, into the fearsome sea, and through the persistent Chilean rain, he listens and he follows. Combining elements of magical realism with biography, poetry, literary fiction, and sensorial, transporting illustrations, Pam Muñoz Ryan and Peter Sís take readers on a rare journey of the heart and imagination.” (http://www.amazon.com/Dreamer-Notable-Childrens-Books-Readers/dp/0439269709)

We hope to see you there! We’re looking forward to hearing what you think about the book!

Thanks so much to the wonderful group who joined us last night for our September discussion of The Queen of Water by Laura Resau and María Virginia Farinango.  If you couldn’t make it to the book group, be sure to let us know what you thought about the book by commenting on a post.  We want to hear your thoughts too!

Don’t forget to comment on any post by Sunday September 16th to be entered in a drawing for one of five copies of The Dreamer!!

3 thoughts on “Our Next Good Read. . .The Dreamer

  1. Hi Katrina,
    I almost forgot to send this in! Please register me for “The Dreamer” – I also wanted to thank you for the post with the ‘GLAD’ pre-reading activities – a great reminder, and again, thank you for the great meeting at Bookworks.

    fg

  2. I enjoyed taking part in the discussion group for this book. Although I’ve yet to read the book, I feel that I learned much about it. I hope to read it soon.

    The discussion not only piqued my interest in the book, but also in the poetry of Pablo Neruda. I especially want to read “The Book of Questions”. Thank you again for accepting me into your group this month.

    Robert Baca
    Social Studies teacher
    Foothill High School

    • It was wonderful to have you! I’m also pretty curious about “The Book of Questions”. I’m hoping to check it out before our next meeting, so maybe we can talk about it a little more then. I agree, I’m definitely interested in reading more of his poetry now too.

Leave a Reply

