RETRO REVIEW: THE MIRACULOUS JOURNEY OF EDWARD TULANE by Kate DiCamillo

I read this post today, and I just had to share it on Vamos a Leer–the timing was perfect, as tomorrow’s post is all about using literature in the classroom. I have to admit, I’ve never read this particular Kate DiCamillo book, and it probably doesn’t have much Latin American content, but I loved the description of how this teacher weaves literary analysis into her read aloud. She gives excellent examples of ways we can make read aloud even more beneficial to our students.

Nerdy Book Club


I read the gorgeous book The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane aloud to my class at the beginning of every year.  It becomes a touchstone (mentor text) in my classroom for the rest of the school year. I used to teach fifth graders, and the first year I decided to share this book, I was a little nervous about the boys, especially, that they would be too “cool” to enjoy a story about a china rabbit.  Those fears were quickly assuaged, however, as soon as they began the journey with me.  The miracle of the book itself is that it is so well done that you are swept away with Edward immediately and wrapped up in the beautiful language that Kate DiCamillo so expertly crafts.  One of the skills she uses is the well-placed cliffhanger at the end of each short chapter.  What teacher doesn’t love the groans emitted from…

View original post 899 more words

Leave a Reply

