Our Next Good Read. . .Krik! Krak!

Join us May 7th at Bookworks from 5:00-7:00 to discuss our next book.  We are reading Krik! Krak! by Edwidge Danticat.   It’s quite a moving set of short stories, described in the following:   “When Haitians tell a story, they say “Krik?” and the eager listeners answer “Krak!” In Krik? Krak! In her second novel, Edwidge Danticat establishes herself as the latest heir to that narrative tradition with nine stories that encompass both the cruelties and the high ideals of Haitian life. They tell of women who continue loving behind prison walls and in the face of unfathomable loss; of a people who resist the brutality of their rulers through the powers of imagination. The result is a collection that outrages, saddens, and transports the reader with its sheer beauty” (Amazon.com).

We hope to see you there! We’re looking forward to hearing what you think about Danticat’s work!

Thanks so much to the wonderful group of ladies who joined us last night for our April discussion of The Surrender Tree!!  If you couldn’t make it to the book group, be sure to let us know what you thought about The Surrender Tree by commenting on a post.  We want to hear your thoughts too!

17 thoughts on “Our Next Good Read. . .Krik! Krak!

  1. I am looking forward to Krik? Krak! … I am a teacher currently teaching elementary school, however I used to teach World Literature and Intro. to Literature at the high school level. I cannot wait to read this book that offers insight to the Haitian culture. This book sounds like one that will elicit many emotions through its stories. I cannot wait! Yleana Baca

    • Good to hear, Yleana! We’ll look forward to seeing you on Monday and in the meantime a copy of Krik? Krak! will be in the mail to you. 🙂

      • Thank you so much! I cannot wait to open it up and jump right in! I feel like I just won a prize! 🙂

  2. I am so happy that I found this blog/reading group! I heard great things about what “Vamos A Leer” does from the staff who coordinates the weekly Tuesday meetings at the Latin and Iberian institute. I cannot wait to read this book. One of my majors is Women’s Studies and Krik? Krak! sounds like an intense, captivating compilation of stories. I love to read about different cultures and learning about their struggles, adversities they face and traditions they practice. I am very excited about this read to start off my summer!

    • Good to hear from you, Nina! We’re glad that you’re looking forward to Danticat’s short stories. I’m sorry I can’t send you a free copy of the book this month, but be sure to check back with us when we renew the group in August. At that time we’ll have another five free copies of the selected book to share with our participants!

      • Keira,
        I am a bit confused about the date. I have a flyer that says May 7 and a note from you with the book that says May 2. Can you verify the date please. I am SO into this book, I cannot put it down!

      • Sorry for the confusion Yleana. The book group is May 7th. I’m so glad that you like the book!! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts!

      • It’s definitely May 7th. Sorry about the confusion, Yleana. I should have looked at my calendar before I wrote the note!

  3. I see that this is a rather old post — but I hope it is still active. I am in the process of looking for books for a 7th grade world literature curriculum. I’m interested in including some Danticat — but not sure if it would be considered middle school appropriate. Do you have any thoughts? Would Krik Krak work? Thanks.

    • Danticat may be a hard author to use with middle school students. She really doesn’t spare the grit. You might consider an alternative: Ann Burg’s recent novel “Serafina’s Promise” is written in verse and would probably be easier to tackle with your students. The writing style is accessible, but the topics that she covers are anything but simple — her characters offer engaging perspectives of contemporary Haiti in the time leading up to the earthquake.

  4. Our pleasure! Let us know if you tackle Danticat or Burg with your students. We’re always eager to hear how these books unfold in the classroom.

Leave a Reply

